Archive for August 27th, 2005

Podcast available

Saturday, August 27th, 2005

I finally got round to figuring out how to publish a podcast late last night – blimey, it’s not as simple as people make out! There are rumours flying around that Apple might create a program that allows you to record and publish podcasts with chapter points, changing images etc and I really hope they do.
I tried so many techniques last night (admittedly late and, er, a little drunk) and the easiest was the one I should’ve tried earlier but didn’t realise existed: feedburner.com (who I use to convert my Atom feed into RSS) provide a facility that detects audio and video files and wraps them in the required enclosure.
Anyway – the upshot of this is that you can now subscribe to my podcast using various bits of software. To subscribe in iTunes (my preferred method now) just drag the ‘XML’ badge on the right sidebar into your podcast directory. It’s pretty much the same for other programs too but the actual URL is: http://feeds.feedburner.com/AWordInYourEar

I’m not sure if I’ll get into the podcasting thing (I don’t have the voice for it! Plus I’m better at writing than making this stuff up verbally) – the idea is to use it with students and now it seems so easy I’m looking forward to giving it a go.

Podcast

[UPDATE: Well I don’t know wht’s happening – one minute the podcasts are there in iTunes, the next it says they don’t exist. This is more difficult than I thought – am I missing something obvious? I’ll try again at the weekend…]