Speak Up

Friday, November 4th, 2005

I was recently invited to become a contributor to the ‘Speak Up’ design site – quite an honour for me personally.
Of course the moment I was asked I froze up, wondering what the hell I could write…
In the past few weeks I’ve started articles, finished quite a few, discarded others and lost notes that I was sure at the time were going to revolutionise the field of graphic design criticism.

Well today I finally submitted my first article: Pizza Flyers: The Height of Good Graphic Design?, which resulted partly from the New Views conference last week and partly from a series of discussions I had with my students yesterday.

It’s not a masterpiece by any standards, but it sort of sets out my stall and – I hope – provokes a reaction! I think I might follow it up soon with further ‘evidence’ that we really should be taking everyday graphic design more seriously.

Leave a Reply

