Heads up!

Friday, May 5th, 2006

Here’s a great lesson in being very, very careful where you place the model’s head when designing magazine covers:

So I was in a fabric store purchasing some sort of unit of fabric for a dress for my mother, as a favour.

I was waiting at the checkout line trying to look like I knew what I was doing there, when I looked at the one magazine that was on sale, as one often does when stuck in a checkout line.

Now being a guy who doesn’t often frequent fabric stores to purchase units of fabric for dresses for my mother, as a favour, I had never seen this particular magazine, and so was quite surprised to see the word ‘Butt’ in giant pink type across the top of it.

It took me a second to figure out what the actual name of the magazine was really supposed to be, until I saw that their website was http://www.butterick.com.

Needless to say, as soon as I got home I went to their website and found that this was not the first time they had placed a model in a bad position on the cover”

(Via nickfruhling.com / blogzilla – the Blog of Nick Fruhling.)

Leave a Reply

