Winner

Saturday, November 18th, 2006

My first book Visual Communication: From Theory to Practice took the award for Best Book in the Tertiary Education category of the British Book Awards on Wednesday night, beating off what I thought was a tough rival.

Congratulations to the team at AVA, my co-author Lucienne Roberts, and to designer Bob Wilkinson. Also to the designers who took the time to be interviewed for it, including (among others) Neville Brody, Michael Beirut, Erik Spiekermann and the young and up-coming Emmi Salonen.

Buy it at Amazon.com or Amazon.co.uk

I spotted someone buying it in Borders in Brighton the other week and plucked up the courage to ask them why. Then realised it made me look like I haunt book shops desperately trying to see if anyone will buy it. I don’t, honest!

2 comments on “Winner

  1. Shaun says:

    Hey, congratulations. Did you receive a trophy or some other symbolic? Also, were you told why you were chosen over the other candidates?

  2. Jonathan says:

    Nothing symbolic, but I just had a can of Stella. The citation said the book ‘tried to achieve something different in this category’. It’s the ‘tried’ I particularly like 😉

Leave a Reply

